New legislation

The Education (Teaching Council of Aotearoa New Zealand) Amendment Act became law on 29 September 2018.

In addition to changing the Council’s name, the Act increased the size of the Board to 13 members (up from nine). Seven of the members must be elected by the profession. There were no changes to the functions of the Council. We continue to be the professional body for all registered teachers from early childhood through to primary and secondary schooling.

The full progress of the Act can be viewed on the Parliament New Zealand website. To read the Act in full, go to the New Zealand Legislation website.

Hon. Minister Chris Hipkins introduced the Bill in June 2017. In a press release sent from his office on 18 September 2018, Minister Hipkins said he introduced the Bill because he and others in his party believed the teaching profession could be trusted to elect representatives on their own professional organisation. He also said the name of the Council would change to better reflect the work of teachers and the core business of the Council. The Cabinet Paper for the Bill also provides some useful background. 

Back to top

Board elections 2019

The new Board must include seven members elected by the profession (a teacher and a professional leader from the ECE sector, a teacher and a principal from the primary sector, a teacher and a  principal from the secondary sector, and a registered teacher from the initial teacher education or continuing teacher education sector).

All registered teachers with current practising certificates were encouraged to vote for a teacher or leader in the sector they work in, during the election in March 2019. 

Back to top

Election results

Voting closed in the Teaching Council Board elections on 26 March. The successful candidates in each of the seven sectors were:

Sector Successful candidate
ECE Service Leaders Clair Edgeler
ECE Teachers Lorraine Carr
Primary Principals Pat Newman
Primary Teachers Anna MacKinnon
Secondary Principals Patrick Walsh
Secondary Teachers Pip Woodward
Teacher Educators Jenny Ritchie


Check out the successful candidate's profiles. 

The Minister of Education appointed the additional six board members after the election.

The new Board took office on 1 July 2019.

Back to top