Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

The Education Council has a new name: Teaching Council of Aotearoa New Zealand

29 September 2018

The Education (Teaching Council of Aotearoa New Zealand) Amendment Act became law on 29 September 2018.

In addition to changing the Council’s name, the Act increases the size of the Board to 13 members (up from nine).  There are no changes to the functions of the Council. We will continue to be the professional body for all registered teachers from early childhood through to primary and secondary schooling.

The new Board will include seven members elected by the profession (a teacher and a professional leader from the ECE sector, a teacher and a principal from the primary sector, a teacher and a  principal from the secondary sector, and a registered teacher from the initial teacher education or continuing teacher education sector).

The Minister of Education will appoint the additional six board members after the election.

The inaugural election will be held in March 2019. 

The new Board will take office on 1 July 2019. the meantime, the current Board will continue to oversee the running of the Council.

Frequently Asked Questions

Click here for answers to Frequently Asked Questions.