Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Education Council’s Board Chair, Barbara Ala’alatoa appointed as a member of Tomorrow’s Schools Taskforce

05 April 2018

The Education Council’s Board Chair Barbara Ala’alatoa has joined four other education experts as a member of the Tomorrow’s Schools Review Independent Taskforce.

Appointed by Education Minister Chris Hipkins, the members will focus on governance, management, and administration in education.

‘The Education Council is very happy for Barbara on her appointment to the Taskforce,’ says Education Council Chief Executive Dr Graham Stoop. ‘With Barbara’s significant experience and wealth of knowledge within the education sector, her contribution to the review will be of great benefit.’

Ms Ala’alatoa has more than 30 years' experience in teaching and working across the education sector. In addition to being Board Chair of the Education Council, she is the principal at Sylvia Park Primary School.
Joining Ms Ala’alatoa on the Taskforce will be Bali Haque (Chair), Dr Cathy Wylie, Professor Mere Berryman, and Professor John O’Neill.
The Minister of Education announced the terms of reference for the review in March.
Details of the review can be found here.